Quality control of medical pipettes

Dimensional and appearance controls at very high speed
Medical industry
The quality control system and sorting of medical pipette tips
A qmt control station

Pipettes are used in the medical industry to carry out dosages of small volumes. To guarantee the accuracy of this assay, the pipette tips must have a perfect geometry and surface finish. The production process by plastic injection of pipette tips does not allow 100% quality control. A 100% automatic control is therefore necessary.

Pipette measuring station for Zubler

qmt has developed and industrialized, as part of its OEM program, the QMTsort-Tip station for 100% quality control of medical pipettes. To guarantee the accuracy of this assay, the pipette tips must have a perfect geometry and surface finish

reading
A control station

qmt offers QMTCheck control stations, the OEM version QMTSort-Tip has been developed for the control of plastic pipette tips. This controls the dimensions as well as the surface condition of the products leaving the injection machine with a rate of 10 products per second.

Integration of QMTSort-Tip

The QMTSort-Tip control system is integrated into the unloading robot of the injection machine to allow 100% control and a high level of responsiveness to possibly adapt the process in the event of drift. At the time of the control, the products are in racks typically containing 96 tips. The QMTSort-Tip system is based on the QMT Vision Inspector platform. The user-friendly user interface allows easy and understandable configuration of the system and product variants.

The physical infrastructure of QMTSort-Tip

The points being in racks, a motorized system comprising two servomotors performs the movements in order to allow scanning. In order to guarantee an optimal cycle time, QMTSort-PlastInject includes three optical assemblies which work in parallel and which are synchronized with the displacement of the two axes (see diagram below). Controlling a rack of 96 tips therefore represents the acquisition and processing of 96 images involving 672 results (7 checks per tip).

The system includes a standard LED transmitted light and 3 episcopic lights developed specifically for this application in order to guarantee a very high power and a small size.

The integrated computer system communicates with the entire machine through opto-isolated 24VDC digital lines and an OPC server for reference selection and traceability management.

QMTSort-Tip Software

The control and supervision software has been developed so that it can be used by operators without specific IT skills. It is multi language and the user interface is only graphical.

The QMTSort-Tip software controls 7 parameters for each tip, including diameters, concentricity, surface condition and the absence of burrs (More information).

Typical dimensions of a pipette point are an inside diameter of 0.5mm (tolerances +0.050 / 0) and an outside diameter of 0.9mm (tolerances +0.025 / -0.025).

The QMTSort-Tip software includes a very easy-to-use mode for creating control (reference) programs so that customers can create personalized programs. The control programs are memorized and can therefore be recalled during subsequent productions.

The QMTSort-Tip software allows the saving of the results as well as the images in order to allow a follow-up of the operation as well as an understanding of the detected faults.

Fit For You (F4U)
personalization
some products

personalization
some products

F4U program
MADE FOR YOU (M4U)
Solution on
measured

Solution according to notebook
charges

M4U program
OEM program
Your
Product

Custom product
industrialized by QMT

OEM program

Le contrôle qualité de pipettes médicales

Contrôles dimensionnels et d'aspect à très haute cadence
Industrie Médicale
Le système de contrôle de qualité et tri de pointes de pipettes médicales
Une station de contrôle Qualimatest

Des pipettes sont utilisées dans l’industrie médicale pour réaliser des dosages de petits volumes. Pour garantir la précision de ce dosage, les pointes de pipettes doivent avoir une géométrie ainsi qu’un état de surface parfait. Le processus de production par injection plastique des pointes de pipettes ne permet pas une maîtrise à 100% de la qualité. Un contrôle automatique à 100% est donc nécessaire.

Une station de contrôle

QUALIMATEST propose des stations de contrôle QMTCheck, la version OEM QMTSort-Tip a été développée pour le contrôle des pointes de pipettes plastiques. Celui-ci contrôle les dimensions ainsi que l’état de surface des produits en sortie de la machine d’injection avec une cadence de 10 produits par seconde.

L'intégration de QMTSort-Tip

Le système de contrôle QMTSort-Tip est intégré au robot de déchargement de la machine d’injection afin de permettre un contrôle à 100% et un haut niveau de réactivité pour éventuellement adapter le processus en cas de dérive. Au moment du contrôle, les produits sont dans des racks contenant typiquement 96 pointes. Le système QMTSort-Tip est basé sur la plateforme QMT Vision Inspector. L’interface utilisateur conviviale permet un paramétrage facile et compréhensible du système et des variantes de produits.

L'infrastructure matérielle de QMTSort-Tip

Les pointes étant dans des racks, un système motorisé comprenant deux servomoteurs réalise les déplacements afin de permettre un scanning. Afin de garantir un temps de cycle optimal, QMTSort-PlastInject comprend trois ensembles optiques qui travaillent en parallèle et qui sont synchronisés avec le déplacement des deux axes (cf schéma ci-dessous). Le contrôle d’un rack de 96 pointes représente donc l’acquisition et le traitement de 96 images impliquant 672 résultats (7 contrôles par pointe).

Le système comprend un éclairage diascopique LED standard et 3 éclairages épiscopiques développés spécifiquement pour cette application afin de garantir une puissance très élevée et une petite taille.

Le système informatique intégré communique avec l’ensemble de la machine au travers de lignes digitales 24VDC opto isolées et d’un serveur OPC pour la sélection de référence et la gestion de la traçabilité.

Le Logiciel QMTSort-Tip

Le logiciel de contrôle et de supervision a été développé pour pouvoir être utilisé par des opérateurs sans compétences informatiques particulières. Il est multi langue et l’interface utilisateur est uniquement graphique.

Le logiciel QMTSort- Tip contrôle 7 paramètres pour chaque pointe dont les diamètres, la concentricité, l'état de surface et la non présence de bavures (Plus d'informations).

Les dimensions typiques d’une point de pipettes sont un diamètre intérieur de 0.5mm (tolérances +0.050 / 0) et un diamètre extérieur de 0.9mm (tolérances +0.025 / -0.025).

Le logiciel QMTSort-Tip comprend un mode de création de programmes de contrôle (référence) très simple d’utilisation afin que les clients puissent créés des programmes personnalisés. Les programmes de contrôles sont mémorisés et peuvent donc être rappelés lors des productions ultérieures.

Le logiciel QMTSort-Tip permet la sauvegarde des résultats ainsi que des images afin de permettre un suivi du fonctionnement ainsi qu’une compréhension des défauts détectés.

Fit For You (F4U)
Personnalisation
des produits

Personnalisation
des produits

Programme F4U
MADE FOR YOU (M4U)
Solution sur
mesure

Solution selon cahier
des charges

Programme M4U
Programme OEM
Votre
Produit

Produit sur mesure
industrialisé par QMT

Programme OEM
Mesure de pipettes médicales

Une station de contrôle OEM développée et produite par Qualimatest pour garantir la qualité de produits médicaux

lecture