Guiding a robot

To automate the packaging of coins
Robotic packaging
Measuring the position and orientation of coins
Ultra fast image processing

Robotic applications often use a mechanical positioning system which implies that the parts must be positioned precisely on a pose so that the gripper automatically centers on the latter. In some cases, the system loses flexibility, increases production costs and in extreme cases no solution is possible.

A vision system offers the advantage of recognizing parts and determining their position. In addition, the exact position of the part before and after its gripping can be calculated thus increasing the precision of assembly operations.

Need

INEA develops packaging lines for various industries. In coin wrapping, the pieces are taken from a pallet or a specific pose, oriented and then deposited in a stencil.

While the precision of the parts in their pose is sufficient for their gripping by the robot, this is not the case on the pallet since their position is random. A camera, placed above the pallet, allows in this case to determine the position of the parts. A second camera then makes it possible to calculate the orientation and the precise position of the part on the gripper in order to deposit it in a chablon.

Challenge

Qualimatest, as a supplier, was able to develop a solution based on machine vision to meet the requirements. The technical criteria have been clearly defined in a specification as in any specific development. In addition to the requirements for accuracy, reliability and cycle time, it also meant reducing engineering costs. High flexibility and an easy-to-use graphical user interface are now basic requirements for all vision systems.

The wide variety of coins, however, has imposed a high requirement for flexible system settings. It must indeed be possible for a user to easily define a new coin. The system must therefore cover all kinds of possible parts for future use.

The size of the pallets and the reflective parts imposed high demands on lighting. The illumination was to illuminate an area of ​​440x330mm evenly and to minimize parasitic reflections.

Another difficulty was to reach the predicted accuracy taking into account the cycle time. The critical element was the second camera since image capture and processing directly influence the system's cycle time. An algorithm has been developed for calculating the position of the part and its orientation with a measurement accuracy of 0.3 ° for the angle and 0.01mm for the center position, for a computation time of a few milliseconds.

 

Vision Solution

The vision solution of Qualimatest is based on the hardware platform of QMT Vision Inspector. The choice of cameras (1392x1040Pixel) was essentially defined by requirements on the resolution and the ability to accept an external trigger.

The entire system has been developed as a module. The camera 1 captures an image (440x330mm) from the board and recognizes the center of the coins (Ø16-40mm). The camera 2 takes an image (45x60mm) of the coin seized by the robot, its orientation and its position on the gripper are then calculated. A standard computer was used with two image acquisition cards. The data transfer with the robot is done by TCP / IP.

While for the calculation of the orientation of the coin a DOAL lighting could be used, a special custom lighting had to be developed to ensure a uniform illumination of the tray.

Qualimatest integrated the application into its QMTView GUI and developed an algorithm for calculating the position and orientation of parts for the camera 2 in order to reduce the calculation time. The calibration of the system is done using specific tool and markings on the screen. The system can be controlled at any time and without additional help, and if necessary calibrated again.

Conclusion

The development of the vision system was achieved in a short time thanks to the QMT Vision Inspector platform. The cycle time required for the entire system of 2.8 seconds per coin could be achieved inter alia by the performance of the calculation algorithm, the calculation of the orientation and the position of the coin requires less than 30ms. The data transfer between the robot and the vision system was done in TCP / IP.

 
Mastery of work and technologies
A company with a broad know-how

Mastery of multiple disciplines such as micromechanics, electronics, optics, automation and software

Know-how
 
Customized solution
Customized solutions on specifications

Qualimatest designs, develops and industrializes solutions that meet the specifications of its customers

Customized solutions
 
From the Qualimatest standard
Products for quality control

A range of powerful products developed by our team. The Fit For You program allows customization

Products
Software Functions QMTMeasure
All solutions are based on unique software features

For optical control

To increase production yields
and the quality of the parts

For aesthetic control

For acoustic and vibration control

They trusted Qualimatest
Prestigious references in all fields of industry

The aspect of cornflakes controlled at high speed by vision

Identification of each vehicle to ensure the recording of measurements for preventive maintenance

To characterize the regulating organ of mechanical watches

Three Qualimatest vision systems to produce injection pens

INEA develops packaging lines for various industries

DuPont de Nemours Selects Qualimatest to Automate Creep Testing

Le guidage d'un robot

Pour l'automatisation de l'emballage de pièces de monnaies
Emballage robotisé
Mesure de la position et de l'orientation de pièces de monnaie
Un traitement d'image ultra rapide

Les applications robotisées utilisent souvent un système de positionnement mécanique qui implique que les pièces doivent être positionnées précisément sur un posage afin que le préhenseur se centre automatiquement sur ce dernier. Dans certain cas, le système perd de sa flexibilité, augmente les coûts de production et dans les cas extrêmes aucune solution n’est envisageable.

Un système vision offre l’avantage de pouvoir reconnaître les pièces et d’en déterminer leur position. De plus, la position exacte de la pièce avant et après sa préhension peut être calculée augmentant ainsi la précision des opérations d’assemblage.

Besoin

L’entreprise INEA développe des lignes d’emballage pour diverses industries. Dans l’emballage de pièces de monnaie, les pièces sont prises depuis une palette ou d’un posage spécifique, orientées puis déposées dans un chablon.

Alors que la précision des pièces dans leur posage est suffisante pour leur préhension par le robot, tel n’est pas le cas sur la palette puisque leur position est aléatoire. Une caméra, placée au dessus de la palette, permet dans ce cas de déterminer la position des pièces. Une deuxième caméra permet ensuite de calculer l’orientation et la position précise de la pièce sur le préhenseur afin de la déposer dans un chablon.

Challenge

Qualimatest, en tant que fournisseur, a pu développer une solution basée sur de la vision industrielle afin de répondre aux exigences posées. Les critères techniques ont été clairement définit dans un cahier des charges comme lors de tout développement spécifique. En plus des exigences de précision, de fiabilité et du temps de cycle, il s’agissait aussi de réduire les coûts d’engineering. Une grande flexibilité et une interface graphique simple d’utilisation sont aujourd’hui des exigences de bases pour tous systèmes de vision.

La grande variété des pièces de monnaie a cependant imposé une haute exigence en matière de flexibilité du paramétrage du système. Il doit en effet être possible à un utilisateur de définir facilement une nouvelle pièce de monnaie. Le système doit donc couvrir toutes sortes de pièces envisageables pour une utilisation future.

La dimension des palettes et les pièces réfléchissantes ont imposé des exigences élevées en matière d'éclairage. L’éclairage devait illuminé une zone de 440x330mm de façon homogène et réduire au maximum les réflexions parasites.

Une autre difficulté a consisté à atteindre la précision prévue en tenant compte du temps de cycle. L'élément critique a été la deuxième caméra puisque la prise d’image et le traitement influencent directement le temps de cycle du système. Un algorithme a été développé pour le calcul de la position de la pièce et de son orientation avec une précision de mesures de 0.3° pour l'angle et 0.01mm pour la position du centre, ceci pour un temps de calcul de quelques millisecondes.

 

Solution Vision

La solution vision de Qualimatest se base sur la plateforme matérielle de QMT Vision Inspector. Le choix des caméras (1392x1040Pixel) a été essentiellement défini par des exigences sur la résolution et la capacité d’accepter un trigger externe.

L'ensemble du système a été développé sous forme de module. La caméra 1 saisit une image (440x330mm) du plateau et reconnaît le centre des pièces de monnaie (Ø16-40mm). La caméra 2 prend une image (45x60mm) de la pièce de monnaie saisie par le robot, son orientation et sa position sur le préhenseur sont ensuite calculées. Un ordinateur standard a été utilisé avec deux cartes d’acquisition d’image. Le transfert de données avec le robot s'effectue par TCP/IP.

Tandis que pour le calcul de l'orientation de la pièce de monnaie un éclairage DOAL pouvait être utilisé, un éclairage spécial sur mesure a dû être développé pour garantir un éclairage homogène du plateau.

Qualimatest a intégrés l'application dans son interface graphique QMTView et a développé un algorithme pour le calcul de la position et l’orientation de pièces pour la caméra 2 afin de diminuer le temps de calcul. La calibration du système se fait à l’aide d’outil spécifique et des repères à l’écran. Le système peut ainsi être contrôlé à tout moment et sans aides supplémentaires, et au besoin être calibré à nouveau.

Conclusion

Le développement du système de vision a pu être réalisé dans des délais courts grâce à la plate-forme QMT Vision Inspector. Le temps de cycle exigé pour l'ensemble du système de 2.8 secondes par pièce de monnaie a pu être atteint entre autres par les performances de l’algorithme de calcul, le calcul de l'orientation et de la position de la pièce de monnaie nécessite moins de 30ms. Le transfert de données entre le robot et le système de vision a été réalisée en TCP/IP.

 
Maîtrise d'oeuvre et technologies
Une entreprise avec un large savoir-faire

Maîtrise de multiples disciplines telles que la micromécanique, l'électronique, l'optique, l'automation et le logiciel

Les savoir-faire
 
Solution sur mesure
Solutions personnalisées sur cahiers des charges

Qualimatest conçoit, développe et industrialise des solutions qui répondent aux cahiers des charges de ses clients

Solutions sur mesure
 
Du standard Qualimatest
Des produits pour le contrôle qualité

Une gamme de produits performants développée par notre équipe. Le programme Fit For You permet une personnalisation

Les produits
Fonctions logicielles QMTMesure
Toutes les solutions sont basées sur des fonctions logicielles uniques

Pour le contrôle optique

Pour augmenter les rendements de production
et la qualité des pièces

Pour le contrôle esthétique

Pour le contrôle acoustique et vibratoire

Ils ont fait confiance à Qualimatest 
Des références prestigieuses dans tous les domaines de l'industrie

L'aspect de corn-flakes contrôlé à haute cadence par vision

Identification de chaque véhicule pour garantir l’enregistrement de mesures pour la maintenance préventive

Pour caractériser l'organe réglant des montres mécaniques

Trois systèmes de vision Qualimatest pour produire des pens d'injection

L’entreprise INEA développe des lignes d’emballage pour diverses industries

DuPont de Nemours a choisi Qualimatest pour automatiser les essais de fluage